Just a Self-Reflection

images

“Beware the barrenness of a busy life.” Socrates

 

As I sit here with a fresh bout of insomnia, I realized I have had one of the best times here in Chicago. Staying up late , laughing, reminiscing on the best of times… It reminds me of the importance of living life to the fullest everyday. Within every interaction; there is the possibility to achieve a higher awareness of self as we learn to be mentally and emotionally present within a specific moment in time.

Laughter is truly the best remedy to a mental reset. I used to think the best reset came from the isolation of solitude but I have received a burst of energy just from being around some of the most genuine people I’ve ever had the privilege to be related to. A little rough around the edges but smooth perfection deep within their heart. Light radiates from their smile… As cliche as this sounds… there is no other way to describe how infectious their optimism is… Allowing the flow of inspiration to touch the mind with a driven hand as their encouragement reminds me to take a moment to slow down and make time for my dream. Socrates says it best… “Beware the barrenness of a busy life.”

When I was younger; I will admit that I often wondered exactly what he was referring to as through our works; we receive tangible items reflecting success. Now that I’m older; I realize exactly what he was referring to. Being under the constant restraint of schedules and unrealistic obligations  list we set on ourselves, can have a negative impact in our lives if we do not attempt to find the balance of work and living life… With this in mind; I have decided to make a point to have a time slot of the day to make a point to live a little… That I can be with the presence of others or exploring new areas of interest for myself…

6 thoughts on “Just a Self-Reflection”

  1. I feel the same. I don’t have to work because of study but the balance between academics and personal interests is must. Sometimes I make schedules and find it hard to follow and then sleep for the whole day instead 😂 But whatever, some persons and hobbies are worth giving our time 😀

  2. It’s indeed important to find the right balance in life. We make a very big mistake of assuming that a successful and happy life means a life of just struggles, etc, which isn’t true, it’s all about the right balance.
    Well said!

Leave a Reply

