Making Efforts = New Perspectives

 

 

Chicago Skyline shore
“Opinion is the medium between knowledge and ignorance ” – Plato

 

 

As I sit watching the water ripple from the wind’s caress; enjoying the overcast of clouds shifting from on coming drizzles; my mind escapes me to so many realms of appreciation. The past few weeks have been crazy busy. Often so busy, that I’m sad to say, I have not been able to read many of favorite bloggers… Sometimes I question if a vacation is truly a vacation; especially when the workload increases once we enter reality again.

On a positive note; I had a great time in Chicago…My one true center! I know it gets a bad rap and I’m not about to question the reality of those horrible statistics; But, what I can say is that you should never judge a book by its cover… The city has so much to offer with a mix of cultures. I personally have enjoyed the city’s artistic culture many of times and I do feel the element that entices me to seek out artistic creativity is derived from those very influences. In addition to the beautiful architecture to many historic buildings; sometimes you can find a hidden gem residing in the many different villages or neighborhoods.

Maybe it’s the freedom of unrestricted, unbiased optimism I base my journeys on but I never read too much into another’s opinion. I take it into consideration, however, I  believe for the most part; life experiences should be uniquely personal to each of us. With this in mind; I always step out with the clarity of unrefined openness for the day. In doing so, I have established great friendships! Learning their cultures has been amazing. I  must admit; there are times when the language barrier has been rather difficult but the effort to communicate is always there. Eagerness to learn something new has been my focal point this year and I’m pretty happy with where it’s going so far this year.

 

“True friendship can exist only between two equals.”  – Plato

 

Which brings to one of those happiest of moments. Rekindling old friendships with simple hellos has been beyond words. Don’t you just love it when you can pick up right where you left off?? As, if time itself holds no bearing to the depths of your connection. Laughing with new admiration; adoring the essence of their genuinity. Learning so much about each other in a matter of minutes. After moments of chatter; the realization of the importance to making the effort of staying in touch is overwhelming. Many of times; life has a way of providing so many distractions.

Some will be of importance which requires your full attention, but many will be filled with mindless gestures consuming most of our time. Technology has changed allowing for communication to flow easily. In this day in age; a person can send a message in a matter of seconds… With so many versions of social media sites; there’s really no excuses to not seek each other out. You’re bound to come across that person or a mutual friend to making it easier to connect. If Plato had any truth to his quote below… then don’t waste this day… get out and enjoy life! Take a moment to disconnect… turn off your notifications and be in that moment… a selfie great but what does it hold if merely to update your status…

 

“You can discover more about a person in an hour of play than in a year of conversation.” – Plato 

11 thoughts on “Making Efforts = New Perspectives”

Leave a Reply

