Closing the Chapter

 

reflection-photography-50
Picture Credit: Pinterest 

 

The eyes of the soul of the multitudes are unable to endure the vision of the divine. ~Plato

Where to begin… I thank the countless of messages sent to my site and my email & I assure you that I do have so much to say…those who know me best; know I’d rather sit in silence than to inflict my own negativity to those around me. So, the past couple of weeks; I chose to take that seat at the back of the room with little to no light. Trying not to ruffle any feathers or bring unwanted attention.

The truth is that; there are times in our lives that we just have to accept things for what they are. In that same token; it the same rule of thumb applies to people. The less I expect from people; the less likely I’d be let down. So, with this in mind; taking the bitter with the sweet does give life more substance.

I know, I like to discuss things which bring positive vibes…sharing those smiles… but in reality; there is a side of me that is ….detached, so to speak. The routine of life takes effect and I’ve mastered the routine with a smile. Internally, it can be the simplest thing to remind me how fragile a smile truly is.  Is is genuine? Is it meant with sincerity?

These are the questions that I ask myself these days. It’s a shame when you have to question the motives of those around you … but, what do we do? Sure we can shun them out…make them take a step away…close the door… but, what does that bring??

It will be the next wave of individuals who will undoubtedly let you down. So, what do we do about this cycle? Well, speaking for myself; I just refuse to allow anyone too close…Naturally, I don’t mean to be this way and I don’t want to …but it’s safer. Losing a friend of 8 years is tough. It felt like a separation from a spouse.

 

 

Seed
Family Tree by Johannus Boots

 

People are like dirt. They can either nourish you and help you grow as a person or they can stunt your growth and make you wilt and die.

~ Plato

However, closing that chapter was greatly needed. You can’t help someone who does not want to help themselves. True friends will understand the word “no” and should make an effort to understand that is always given with sincerity. As grown individuals, we should be trying to help each other grow to be the best us.

So, after a long drawn out self-reflecting process; I’ve decided to only have those that bring the best of me out as friends.. the rest can fall into acquaintances mode…and in some cases; leap off that ledge of goodbye!

So… to all my lovely readers; I will begin to post daily again… maybe several times a day… I just need to find my muse… my inspiration again….And I assure you; I will catch up and read your blogs soon!! I’m excited about that part! I can’t help but feel like a kid in a cookie jar! 🙂

15 thoughts on “Closing the Chapter”

  1. Aw that really hurts I know. Sometimes you just have to chalk it up that these people were just sort of meant to be in our lives for a season and time for new leaves to replace the old now.

      1. Yea…I still hurts but the path she’s on…I can’t witness…after years of trying to help her kick her habbit…I can’t anymore…it literally causes high-level stress when we can’t find her and I have her kids all the time…I don’t mind because I love her but she’s getting older and asking questions…how do I answer them….her mom is now seeking custody of her grand daughter… and as her friend…sister…I wanted to be there to help but she chose that life…so..all I can do now is help the grandma as best as I can…

  2. Nice post. I can relate. Lots of challenges in life. Lots of variation in the human relationships I have – some good and some bad. Try not to be too harsh. Easier said then done.
    I like wordpress because even the ‘whiny’ posts (no disrespect, i get it) are written with poetic flair and intelligence. Thank you Jenn.

  3. I think it is a good idea to disconnect now and then to reflect and recharge. The frequency of your posts means little. It is the quality and what it means to you on your journey of discovery and awakening 💖

Leave a Reply

